Chick-fil-A’s Daddy/Daughter Date night

by

[tweetmeme source= ‘dadpad’ only_single=false]

I had a date with my 18 year old daughter last night.  We’ve had a lot of dates during her 18 years.  This one was a little different.  I took her out to a really nice restaurant with table cloths, reservations required and great food.  No, it wasn’t a 5 star-expensive eatery.  It was a local Chick-fil-A restaurant in West Little Rock, AR.  And, it wasn’t my idea.  It was their’s–Chick-fil-A’s.  Using Facebook, the owner/operators sent out a message to all the Facebook Group members that they were having a daddy/daughter date night on Tuesday, June 22.  All you needed to do was to email or call to reserve your seat.  I thought, “what a great idea”.  Hadn’t had a date with my daughter for a while and we both love Chick-fil-A so, why not.   Then, after stopping there for lunch earlier in the week, there was a little bag stuffer that reminded me of the Daddy/Daughter date night.  I asked my daughter if she wanted to go and she was quick to take me up on the offer (probably because it was a free meal 🙂 but maybe because she wanted to spend some time with the old man too).  But, she thought that most of the “couples” might be dads with their young daughters so we went as “uninvited” guests–on the “dl” (down-low for the uncool).

We entered and saw the tables in a section of the restaurant reserved for dads and their dates.  Just before  they entered the restaurant they were given a name tag and checked off the invitation list.  The owners posted reservations in half-hour increments from 5-7 pm.  So, dads and their daughters were streaming in while I enjoyed dinner with my date in another part of the restaurant.  As the couples entered they were greeted by the CFA “Eat Mor Chikin'” cow.  After they ordered and were seated they enjoyed one of the finest chicken sandwiches (or whatever they ordered) on the planet (in my humble opinion).  Then, upon leaving, the young ladies were given a carnation as a reminder of their special evening.  Some of the dads took their young dates to the play area for an after dinner slide or climb.  All the while, my daughter and I shared a nice meal together, connecting about our days–nothing earth shattering–just some good, quality time together, along with many other dads and daughters.

For all of you restaurant owners/managers out there…here’s a great way for you to contribute to the health of your city.  By providing an evening event for dads that was easy for them to act upon, this Chick-fil-A manager provided a win/win scenario.  The popularity of the event meant he had not reserved a portion of his resaurant in vain (I spoke with his wife (they are friends) and she said the 5pm slot was sold out–not sure how the others went but we saw a steady stream of dads and daughters pouring in during and after our time there).  Additionally, there may have been some new dad/daughter date night traditions kicked off in that Chick-fil-A restaurant that night.  Overall, it was a great event for the restaurant and for dads in the Little Rock area.  Way to go, Chick-fil-A!!!  Dads…it’s also a great reminder to start dating your daughters AND your sons on a regular basis.  Chick-fil-A made this one a no-brainer.  But, it’s not hard.  In fact, I’ve heard of dads who have put on their “Sunday best” and come to the front door to pick up their finely dressed date.  Make it special…make it fun…make it simple—-but do “make it”.  And, if they are grown—start now.  Never a better time than the present to spend time with your children, no matter how old they are.

Well, I guess it’s time to start thinking about where I need to take my wife on a date now.  Any other restaurants in Little Rock want to invest in marriage dates?  I’ll be checking on Facebook.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Chick-fil-A’s Daddy/Daughter Date night”

  1. Todd Pack Says:

    What a nice — and smart — idea. I’ve taken my daughter out to eat, just us, once a week since she was 2. She’s 10 now. I do the same thing with my son, who’s 4. It’s usually just a quick meal (with Junior, it’s just until he finishes his chocolate milk), but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

    http://www.toddpack.com

  2. Jeff Abramovitz Says:

    Excellent. I tried to take them out somewhat regularly (three kids two years apart). What I tried to do as they got older was to take each of them out 1x month on the date of their birthday. That made it easier to remember. I didn’t always hit the day (or sometimes the month) but it was on the calendar and I made every effort to meet it. They are now 22, 20 and 18 and I’ll still do it when they are around the house. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. My Girl | A Dad's Journal Says:

    […] we planned for the night, my wife found this article by Jeff Abramovitz.  The coolest thing about that article was that it was Mr. Abramovitz’s […]

  4. Jeff Abramovitz Says:

    So coooool. Thanks for being a good model for other men. I know that what you did not only gave you joy for a night with your daughter but left an impression that she’ll likely never forget. Well done, dad!

  5. Morris Brown Says:

    I’m sorry, but I find this Daddy/Daughter Date Night SUPER creepy. I get that people want to spend quality time with their kids, but do we really want to call a night out with your doughter a date? Can you imagine how pedophiles can exploit events like this?

  6. Jeff Abramovitz Says:

    What’s really sad is that this is even an issue. Certainly understand your point. Call it what you want but spend time with your kids. If that’s not the point you get from the post, my guess is there are other issues you’re dealing with. Don’t think that most healthy relationships between dads and daughters mind calling a night out a “date”. But, the point is…take time with your kids. Thanks for your reply.

Leave a Reply

