DadPad: Quotes & Notes – They are listening

by

The words that a father speaks to his children in the privacy of home are not heard by the world, but, as in whispering-galleries, they are clearly heard at the end and by posterity.  ~Jean Paul Richter

A number of years ago I wondered if my children heard anything that I had said.  There was a lot of head nodding and seeming understanding.  Yet, responses by action didn’t jive with those words of sage advice I had offered ;).  Than, one day I overheard my son talking to a friend of his.  I don’t recall the detail but he repeated something that I had spoken to him earlier as if he was now the authority.  I smirked to myself and learned that they are listening even when it doesn’t appear to be so.  Then, a brief moment of anxiety fell over me.  How many times had I said something that was less than sage, maybe even damaging, that I had prayed they WOULDN’T hear?

Truth is that I have spoken both words of encouragement and wisdom as well as words that hurt.  At the end of the day, that experience made me weigh my words on both sides to make sure that I didn’t waste any of them.  Because, they are listening.

What experiences have you had where you learned that you’re kids heard you loud and clear; those spoken in good times and those spoken out of anger and you wished you had back?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

