Olympics 2010: Brian Burke-A Father’s Story

by

The Olympic Games are always great fodder for moving stories.  This one is especially touching about the recent death of the son of the US Hockey Teams coach, Brian Burke.  Here’s an excerpt of the story from Olympics Fanhouse website:

It was comforting to watch Burke on the dais alongside head coach Ron Wilson and four Team USA players as they held their first press conference of the Games. For close to an hour Sunday in a room off the glorious waterfront, Burke talked shop with fellow hockey lovers, and it made him smile, especially when he got to tweak the Canadians, and maybe for a nano-second it made him forget.

Five days ago, Burke buried his 21-year-old son Brendan, who was killed in an automobile accident on a snowy Indiana road Feb. 5. If Burke had any qualms about fulfilling his Olympic duties, they were shushed when he looked around at his son’s funeral and saw thousands of mourners, many of them from the tight-knit hockey brotherhood, guys he had played with in college and scouts and broadcasters and general managers from nearly every NHL team — they had come from all corners of the world to say goodbye to an extraordinary young man.

“My family needs me to be strong and my team needs to be strong. I think part of leadership is dealing with personal adversity or personal difficulty,” Burke said. “So no, there was never a thought of not coming (here) or doing anything different. I couldn’t bring myself to march in the Opening Ceremony even though I’d planned to because my heart wasn’t in it. I would have been an impostor. But my son would have wanted me to be here.”

Read the full story at Olympics Fanhouse by clicking here

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

