Father’s Day Fast Forward: I hope you remember that…

by

This is the second of three posts in the Father’s Day Fast Forward series- things the DadPad authors would like our children to remember about us when they write their Father’s Day memories years from now.  This installment from Jeff Abramovitz

Dad

On the surface, it’s kind of a sobering thought to envision that day whenyou will be eulogized or talked about by others in the past tense. Yet, there will be a day when we will all be a memory to someone. So, Bryan, Erin and Jaclyn, I know one day you’ll share the life and times (both the good and challenging) Abramovitz family with your family and friends.  When the sun sets on my life and I’m ushered into the arms of Christ, in addition to the outrageous, frustrating, and sometimes dramatic memories we shared together, I simply hope you remember that…:

  • I prayed for you before you were born and I always knew you weren’t ours but you were on loan from God, kind of like the Blues Brothers 😉 (you may have to rent the movie to get it).
  • Loving your mom was the most important thing in my life. Though I didn’t model it well all the times, she was my best friend and you were the result of that deep, covenant love. I prayed the same for your marriages each day of my life.
  • You weren’t the only ones to be prisoner to my corny “fly fishing” type jokes. Sad story is that I started telling those long before you were born.
  • Those times I lost my cool (like the time when the toilet overflowed and you laughed when I dumped the gallons of water in the light fixture all over the kitchen) and asked for your forgiveness…I really meant it.
  • When we wrestled on the floor, I didn’t want to be anywhere else.
  • I was always so proud of each of you as continued maturing in your faith and relationship with Christ
  • The words from friends, family and neighbors about your lives always brought me more joy than I could express.
  • All those lectures I tried to mask as “teachable moments” came from my heart, even when I knew all you heard was “blah blah blah”.
  • Though we didn’t always have the “stuff”, I was always satisfied with what I had in you.
  • My heart literally ached when you left our house. It was right for you to “fly” with your wings to begin the life God gave you, but the imprint of your lives on your mom’s and my heart was indelible.
  • God was my delight.
  • In my imperfection and often sinful life, God’s grace reached down to cover my sins through the blood of Christ, so I could serve and love you and others out of gratitude and love because He loved me first.
  • We had a LOT of fun together and I liked to laugh with you and to make you laugh.
  • We also had times of tears and that was OK too.
  • Every time I stomped around the house upset because you didn’t pick something up that I stubbed my toe on…I was upset and DID want you to pick it up J.
  • When I saw your name come up on my cell phone from a call or text, I always smiled.
  • I always loved you unconditionally. Nothing you did ever diminished my love for you. NOTHING.
  • I didn’t give up fighting the good fight until my last breath and prayed you would do the same.
  • I LOVED YOU and can’t wait for our reunion in heaven.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Father’s Day Fast Forward: I hope you remember that…”

  1. BRIAN Says:

    Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

