Confused Them With Confusion

by

When I was playing high school football, film day was on Monday. I never looked forward to Monday. No matter how well I played, there was always something I knew would be caught on film. After one particular game, which we’d won, I’ll never forget my head coach telling us how he thought we’d won the game. He said, “We confused them with confusion.”

You’ve probably had conversations with your kids that would lead you to believe they were trying to confuse you with confusion. One of my children once told me she was being disrespectful because Iconfused was disciplining her. Of course, I was disciplining her for being disrespectful. I tried to explain that using that logic was like telling the police officer you were speeding because he pulled you over. She didn’t get it. Clearly we weren’t communicating.

Two days ago, I was checking one of my other daughter’s blood pressure. We needed it for a camp she’ll be working at this summer. The display on the electronic cuff showed normal blood pressure, but an irregular heartbeat. I checked two more times with the same result.

Today, my wife took our daughter to the doctor. The EKG confirmed an irregular heartbeat. The good news is that it’s fairly normal. Apparently, many teenagers have a “regular, irregular heartbeat.” Nothing to worry about. But what if it had been something serious? Many people will get seriously bad news today. Maybe you’re one of them.

Whether it’s a conversation with a child or the various trials that come our way, life can be confusing. Things we were sure of somehow don’t seem so sure any more. Principles we read about in a book don’t seem to be working. The advice from a friend just doesn’t seem to fit our particular situation.

So what can we do?

“If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get His help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believing, without a second thought.” James 1:5-6a (The Message)

You don’t have all the answers you need to lead your family. You aren’t meant to. What if the confusing, difficult, painful stuff of life is actually meant to press you to the Father?

SOUND OFF:  What confusing conversations or circumstances might God be using to draw you to Himself?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

