Knee Pads Required

by

Growing up in a home that was irreligious (not anti-Christian, just no evidence of faith lived out), the practices of faith were never expressed in a way that I would catch them.  Prayer was not an everyday practice except for the mealtime ritual speed mumbling of “Come Lord Jesus, be our guest.  And let these gifts to us be blessed. Amen”.  We usually said that so fast that I don’t know if I really knew what I was praying until I just wrote them above.  It sounded more like, “Comelordjesus be-r-guest andletthesegiftstousbeblessed.  Amen.”

Needless to say, the power of this prayer was probably lost in translation. When I came to a personal relationship with Christ at the ripe age of 17, I began to understand the part Prayer played (and plays) in a relationship with God.  And, as a relatively young (at least immature) prayerChristian when we had our first child, I knew I needed all the help I could get with raising them.  Bringing up children in the “fear and admonition of the Lord” was NOT something I caught growing up.  So, when those whom I spiritually looked up to shared tips and help in raising children according to God’s plan, I listened.  FamilyLife was one of those organizations (specifically Bob Lepine and Dennis Rainey on FamilyLife Today’s radio program) that helped me in my growing up as a dad.  And, one of the main keys they mentioned frequently for effective parenting was praying for your children.  Every day.  Intentionally praying. So, I began early on, kneeling on the carpet every morning in front of each of my kids’ bedroom door.

My prayers namely included three things: 1) that they would grow up to love Jesus, 2) that they would live a life devoted to Him and 3) that God would provide a Godly mate for each of them at the right time (not too soon ;-)).  Every day, on my knees, praying those things for my kids.  I soon began to wear a pattern on the carpet in front of those doors.  They were reminders to me of how critical this was in raising my children.  Kneel down to raise up!

Now, I can’t tell you exactly how prayer works.  This blog post won’t debate how we know if/how/why God answers our prayers.  But, I’m here to tell you that I believe with all my heart, those days on my knees have made a difference.  First, God’s word tells us to pray and that He hears our prayers.   And, Jesus prayed.  Constantly.  Here’s a great verse among hundreds about the power and importance of prayer: “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.”  (Rom 8: 26).

My kids are not perfect…far from it.  Their lives are in process.  But I see evidence of those prayers being answered.  They love the Lord.  They desire to pursue Him.  And, as I watch them grow up, I’m so thankful that God is transforming their hearts.  My wife and I continue to pray those three prayers for them and for other issues they face as young adults.  And, I don’t find myself on my knees in front of their bedrooms anymore (two of them are 250 miles away so that alone makes it a little more difficult).  Whether it’s sitting in a chair or driving to work, I don’t think I’ll ever stop praying for my kids.  God will do as He determines, but He allows us to get involved through prayer.  So, as long as I have breath, I will pray for my kids.  How about you?

SOUND OFF:  What prayers do you pray for your children regularly and share any answers you’ve received as an encouragement to those who may be reluctant to take the plunge in prayer?

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Knee Pads Required”

  1. ross and taya Says:

    Several times a day I pray the same prayer for my boys that my dad prayed for me- that they would grow in wisdom and strength and have favor with God and men. When I close my eyes I can instantly see and hear my dad ending nearly every bed-time prayer with those words.

    I also ask God to make the meaning of their names come true. Isaiah means “the LORD is my salvation” and Elijah means “The LORD is my God,” so I pray that from a very young age and for all their life they would not look to people, possessions or a job position to be their salvation, and I pray that the LORD would be their God (the One they worship and follow). Great post Jeff.

  2. Jeff Abramovitz Says:

    Thanks, Ross. I like your addition and the memory of your dad praying for you. Those are the memories I hope to hear my kids recite.

  3. Tuey Wilson Says:

    I have found the book “The Power of a Praying Parent” by Stormie Omartian very helpful. I put the different prayer points from each of the chapters in an outlining program on my computer and each day (that’s the goal) I pray through the points from two or three of the chapters. It helps me pray for areas that I wouldn’t have thought of on my own.

  4. Jeff Abramovitz Says:

    Good thoughts, Tuey. I like the use of a book or some other tool to use as a mnemonic device and, as you say, help you to think about areas you wouldn’t normally have thought about. Good stuff. Thanks.

  5. Knee Pads Required « Abramo-Bitz Says:

    […] Read rest on the DadPad… Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)He hears our prayersThe Power of Prayer, Part 1Praying With A Feather […]

Leave a Reply

