Pickles and Ice Cream

by

picklesandicecream2 OK…this doesn’t appear to be the title that would grab the attention of men, unless of course you’re pregnant.  But it brings back memories of our dads for my wife and me.

My parents divorced when I was young.  As their only child, I was able to spend quality alone time with my dad every Sunday and for two weeks during our annual summer trip.  Though it wasn’t ideal and I would have preferred seeing him everyday, we worked it out the best we could.  Our relationship developed in the confines of his one bedroom apartments.  Memories of our experiences together are plentiful, but only a few have stayed with me.  Minnesota Viking season tickets…that annual summer trip…and, Cat Stevens music :-).  We don’t attend Viking football games anymore; we don’t take annual vacations together and I never did listen to Cat Stevens music alone.   Yet, there is one experience we shared that sticks with me today…pickles.  Pickles, green olives and small cocktail onions (usually served in an alcoholic beverage) were delicacies for our palates (I never did get his taste for pickled Herring).  Those were just a few of the foods my dad introduced me to as a child.  Today, they have stayed with me.

My wife has some similar memories of times with her dad.  She attributes her love of ice cream to his penchant for bringing home a quart of DairyQueen’s soft-serve ice cream on a regular basis.  Nutritional concerns have limited my father in-laws frequent partaking of this palate pleasure, but not eliminated it.  My wife still enjoys her ice cream, yet her thin figure today would tell you she watches her intake carefully (our daughter works at a premium ice cream shop–niiiice).

These aren’t memories that pointed our lives in any significant direction.  Nothing profound; just some simple memories of simple days gone by with our dads.

Here are a couple of questions for you to ponder and respond to:

  • What do you enjoy today (food, music, games, movies, etc) that was born out of shared experiences with your dad?
  • What do you do today (maybe even unintentionally) with your child/children that might be the subject of their future blog entry about simple memories shared with you?

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

